Fashion Night Out

Of course I had to check out the buzz surrounding the Anna Wintour-organized “shopping spree” around the city – and I’m happy to report it was extremely well-attended.  The hardest part was deciding where to go with so many choices and promises of celebrity sightings.

I started out at the Coach flagship store where famed graffiti artist Pesu created  designs on Coach totes for those who were willing to pony up for the price tag. The drinks were excellent and the store served little potatoes with salmon which were tasty and whet my apetite for more window shopping.

Next, I hit up Yves Saint Laurent where cute waiters served up champagne and employees passed out free samples of Parisienne.

The big draw of the night seemed to be Bergdorf Goodman with promises of sightings from Zac Posen, the Olsen Twins, Isaac Mizrahi and more. When I arrived, people were going crazy for the Rachel Zoe signed Fashion Night Out t-shirts and Andre Leon Talley’s “Fashion Rules” game show with Robert Verdi, Donna Karan and others.

Robert Verdi

Robert Verdi

Once I was able to find the closest exit before getting shoved around by the starstruck crazies, I headed up to Juicy Couture, my favorite stop of the evening. English waiters in tight pants with “Juicy” across the rear served up champagne, sparkling water, mini cupcakes and a smile with their painted on mustaches. Cute.  Hamish Bowles, Vogue’s Editor-at-Large perfomed Noel Howard classics themed around the seaside, which made me feel like I was in Nantucket.  I was informed by a manager I befriended that Anna Wintour was scheduled to show up, but no go.

Fashion Night Out September 10, 2009 001 

Fashion Night Out September 10, 2009 002

Fashion Night Out September 10, 2009 003

Hamish Bowles

Hamish Bowles

Last (and maybe least) I checked out Saks Fifth Avenue which had no particular charm about it minus the free cognac from Xante available at the John Allan’s men’s salon, which was really tasty. I read in NY Mag’s The Cut that free brow-shaping services would be available, but no one including the salon seemed to know where this was taking place and an uninformed sales clerk didn’t even know Justin Timberlake had planned to attend, despite the William Rast area which was right by hers.

Fashion Night Out September 10, 2009 004

I finished off the night with a nice meal at Rue 57 — a sirloin burger with Roquefort, a side of pommes frites and steamed spinach. Overall tasty, and I can say I did spend something on Fashion Night Out, even if my dough didn’t go to bling. 🙂

Fashion Night Out September 10, 2009 007

Fashion Night Out September 10, 2009 008

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Fashion Night Out”

  1. fx8848.us Says:

    Wow,it’s so helpful to me,and your blog is very good,I’ve learned a lot from your blog here,Keep on going,my friend,I will keep an eye on it!welcome to forex.

Leave a Reply

