Thanksgiving.

Nothing says hometown Thanksgiving like family, friends, food (…and drink of course).  Here are some of my favorite highlights from my holiday in the good ol’ Buckeye state:

Hands down, the BEST Thanksgiving dish ever. Not only is it easy to make, those little crispy French’s Onions on the top are amazing! (I saw somewhere that 17 million households cook this!)

Green Bean Casserole

Second best dish (best made with corn flakes and brown sugar for that extra crunchy, sweet goodness; no marshmallows required):

Sweet Potato Casserole

 And then there’s the traditional fare:

Homemade Mashed Potatoes

Turkey (by the way, my mom makes the best turkey and I really can’t tell you how to do it. All I remember her saying was that it needs to be well thawed out and reach at least 180 degrees. This was super moist and delicious):

Turkey

 The full spread (extremely happy plates here):

The spread

And my plate (pre gobbled up):

My plate

 As if the food wasn’t more than satisfying, I followed my cousin’s lead to one of the local watering holes – Adobe Gilas in the Easton Town Center in Columbus. You can’t get better than alcohol-inspired painted stools and buckets of beer.  (Note: the margaritas leave a lot to be desired and the green salt (yes, it’s colored green) doesn’t stick to the plastic glasses, so stick to the beer!)

  

 

How did you spend Thanksgiving?

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Thanksgiving.”

  1. Alecia @ Savings & Stewardship Says:

    Mmm!! I cannot wait to read more from you! What a fun blog!!

Leave a Reply

